So many people have shared their xanthelasma stories on this site. Many have also sent me photos of themselves both pre- and post-treatment. And I have felt horribly guilty for not sharing my own experiences and photos.

Well, that’s not entirely true. I have shared my xanthelasma drama in the comments of this post and this post. But I haven’t actually posted in many moons.

As some of you know from my comments, since the last time I shared xanth photos, I treated all three of my monstrosities with TCA.

The first time, I applied it (using the wart remover called Wartners Gel Pen, available on Amazon) myself without thinking or planning at all. I’d been watching TV and suddenly thought, “Maybe I should remove one of these hideous mushrooms from my face tonight!” During a commercial, I sauntered into the bathroom, opened the package, squeezed some of this incredibly potent serum on a Q-tip and put it on my eyelid. (On my eyelid. This stuff is acid.)

When it turned white and started stinging like a motherf*$#er, I freaked out and tried to rub it off, which didn’t work. It did, however, remove the xanthelasma, leaving me with a thin, white scar that, while not exactly attractive, is far preferable to the xanth.

After waiting a few months to see how it healed and after receiving the thumbs up from my dermatologist, who was actually psyched with the results, I had Harlan very carefully dab the Wartners on my other two xanths. The stinging was the same, the three days looking like I’d done a couple rounds with a prize fighter who got the best of me, the two weeks looking a little haggard, the visible scar.

The last time I was in LA visiting my family, everyone commented. Some people said, “Wow! You got rid of those things on your eye!” Others didn’t know quite what had changed, but told me how great I looked.

It felt good.

Anyway, here’s what you’ve all been waiting for: the photos.

This is the second xanth I removed. You can see the scar from the first one under my eye.

This is the second xanth I removed. You can see the scar from the first one under my eye.

Here it is after we applied the TCA.

Here it is after we applied the TCA.

This is day 2 or 3, looking like someone beat me around the face with a stick.

This is day 2 or 3, looking like someone beat me around the face with a stick.

This is the worst of it. I'd say this phase last two days. Then the swelling goes down and there's a scab for a week or two.

This is the worst of it. I’d say this phase lasts two days. Then the swelling goes down and there’s a scab for a week or two.

A couple days later, when the scab was beginning to heal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We spent a weekend on Whidbey Island off of Seattle with some friends in August. For some reason, my eyes are closed in many of the photos, which works well for displaying my xanthelasma-free eyelids!

closed eyes 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

closed eyes 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pretty psyched!

Pretty psyched!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These shots were all taken in August.

The funny thing about deciding to post them only now is that over the past couple of months, the xanth have begun to come back. I’ve spotted flecks of yellow around the scars.

So, this week I had Harlan do a bit of the old TCA dab on the one above my left eye, the one shown above. I originally applied it back in May, so it took about seven months to get to the point where I felt like I wanted to reapply.

As I write, I have a scab the size of a pea on my left eyelid. It is getting smaller everyday. I hope by the time I see all my friends on Christmas Eve, my eyelid will be smooth and creamy with only a small white scar to suggest I ever had a xanthelasma there. I’ll keep you posted.