I came to the computer prepared to write a glum post. It is a grey day in Boston. Not cold, but the air is heavy and the sky seems to be pressing on the top of my head instead of soaring way up where it belongs. Also, I woke up with a cold, or not quite a cold, but my usual early symptoms: swollen glands and a raw, swollen nose. I flushed my sinuses with a neti pot, took Emergen-C and dose of Kold Kare and Wellness Formula and said a prayer.

Mainly I was bummed because on Friday I took a yoga class at Baptiste that fired me up and I was looking forward to taking another one today. But my body told me that 90 minutes of intense vinyasa in a heated room wasn’t what it needed this morning, and I was crushed.

I left Aidan drawing “Angry Bird Star Wars” at school, parked the car near the library and walked over to Darwin’s coffee shop to get some ginger lemon tea and their yummy pear-blue cheese salad for lunch. I planned to plant myself at a desk and spend the next hour complaining here about the weather and my cold and how hard it is to come back to reality after vacation.

But then I ran into the mom of a kid from Aidan’s preschool class and we started chatting and suddenly I was telling her about our trip to the Bahamas and the words were spilling out of my mouth: I just wanted to take the kind of vacation where you can drink fruity drinks by the pool!… And we went parasailing and kayaking and snorkeling! And Aidan had so much fun playing with my friend Courtney’s kids everyday!

“And, God, just talking about it makes me happy!” I said.

And it did. I smiled. My cheeks flushed a little. I seemed to breathe more easily.

So here I am, sitting at my favorite corner seat at the library, and look at that: the sun is just starting to peek through the clouds.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

