I went full-on crafty mom again this Halloween and made Aidan a fire-breathing dragon costume. It was absolutely adorable, but not the most practical costume in the world. He took it off pretty much every time he went downstairs and every time he dove into a bowl of candy, and sometimes he just wanted Harlan or me to carry it around for him.

The ooh’s and aah’s were nice. He charmed them all, even when he was so fixated on the Snickers and Kit Kats, he forgot to say “Trick or Treat” or “Thank you.”

It was also really nice to be able to finally put away the paint, cardboard, tape and paintbrushes that have been cluttering the kitchen counter for the last two weeks (and nice not to have to paint cardboard teeth or claws in front of the TV every night).

I told Harlan to remind me next year that I do not want to go the do-it-yourself route. He said I sounded like my mom who’s been swearing she’ll never have another Christmas Eve party for the last 30 years. She continues to have the party every year. We’ll see.

Anyway, here’s my little dragon!

