Aidan’s pounding on a xylophone up in his room so I might have ten minutes to spare.

What’s going on with us?

I started a screenwriting class at Emerson and have begun working on the screen adaptation of my novel. Really hard, but so much fun. The biggest challenge seems to be finding a babysitter who is available to watch boo while I’m in class. Apparently Monday afternoon is when every babysitter in town takes a nap, gets her nails done, or watches other people’s kids.

In other news, boo had his first haircut. We had to let him sit in my lap and comb his hair and gnaw on an ashtray to get him to sit still, but otherwise he did great. I miss his long hipster bangs, but he can see better and he’s not getting such bad baby bedhead.

While most things are still “da” (that) or “caw” (car, truck, stroller, anything with wheels, as well as dog, duck and, I think, anything he digs or wants), he’s starting to have a bit of a vocabulary:
mommy or mama (mama’s also my mom)
daddy
papa – my dad
boom – broom
poom – spoon
lala – water
wa – walk
fo – phone
o? – hello (while on the phone)
hi
bye
mo – more
guh – good
mmmmmm
nana – banana
come – avocado (don’t ask)
wow
no
yeah
ja – Jack our cat
kiyyee – kitty
Nona – his friend Nona
Zinzee – his old babysitter Lindsay and now, I think, all babysitters
teef – teeth
ba – ball
na – snack and nap
cracka – cracker
I’m sure I’m missing some, but each word is a thrill.

We bought a kitchen table for 15 bucks at a yard sale, but it needs to be painted and we still need chairs. I went driving around at 6am on garbage day, fantasizing about four rickety, but darling, mismatched wooden chairs, but came home empty-handed.

The Geek Squad guys are apparently coming today to mount our TV on the wall. While the to-do list still overwhelms, little by little it’s becoming a functional home.

Our car was towed during street cleaning yesterday, while our babysitter’s car was being towed from the lot at the shopping center up the street.

Harlan stopped home after trying and failing to get a Cambridge parking permit for the third time (don’t have a utility bill yet) and he’s got boo all riled up and rattling his baby gate and I suddenly feel stressed and my tummy hurts and I feel a headache coming on.

(Sorry. Saved these photos at pretty low resolution, but you get the picture.)

Boo's 1st haircut at Floyd's Barbershop on Mass Ave

Boo's 1st haircut at Floyd's Barbershop on Mass Ave

blog2

There are benefits to having a DP for a husband

There are benefits to having a DP for a husband

blog4

The money shot

The money shot

blog6

Clean-cut boy

Clean-cut boy

